Toronto Chapter Award of Merit

Every year, each individual chapter submits candidates for Chapter Award of Merit to the Association. At the CSC Conference 2013, held in Calgary, the following chapter members were recognized for their valued contribution:

Steve Gusterson

What can be said about Stevie G that everyone doesn’t already know?  Steve has been an integral part of the Toronto Chapter Executive for a number of years and his professionalism, dedication, work ethic and sense of humour is next to none.   Steve has committed a great amount of time to our Chapter, including two years as Vice-Chair, Chair and currently Past Chair.  Over these four years, Steve has been implemental in the many changes within our Chapter.  During Steve’s tenure as Chair, he provided great leadership and has made decisions that will allow the growth of our Chapter for years to come.  As Past Chair, he has continued to provide the support and guidance for all the members, and will continue to do so.  Steve just doesn’t know when to say no and is currently reviewing course material to teach our TR course in the future.   In addition, outside of our Chapter Steve will also be fulfilling a commitment he has made to the Ontario Glass Association.  Thank you Steve, you deserve this award.

Steve LeBlanc

When we all sit back and think about the individuals within our Association that put the Association first, Steve LeBlanc’s name would be one that comes to mind.  He is one that can certainly say “I am CSC” and would not be questioned.  Over the years, Steve has volunteered at both the Chapter and National levels, and listing all of his accomplishments would be too numerous to mention, and knowing Steve, he would not want that.  However, his commitment and dedication to the Association should definitely be recognized.  As our current Chapter Director, Steve has represented our Chapter with great integrity.  The guidance and “reality checks” he provides at our Chapter is only surpassed by his professionalism and respect that he has by all of our members.  Steve has been an invaluable part of our Chapter over the years and he has made himself a vital part of the Toronto Chapter family.  Steve, you are well deserving of this award and thank you for everything you have done for our Chapter.

Steve Ioannides

Yes, another Steve, or affectionately known as “Cowboy”.  Steve is one person that if asked, will do absolutely anything for the Chapter, even if it means volunteering for other Chapters.  Over the years Steve has been involved; he has been our Specifier Editor and Student Officer, both very difficult positions and certainly comes with their fair share of challenges.  Steve has always stood up to these challenges with a smile on his face and has done great things for our Chapter, many of which go unrecognized.  In his current position, Steve continues to promote CSC at various colleges and student events ensuring that the next generation is aware of CSC and a career in specification writing.  Steve is a deserving recipient of this award and we should all look forward to his continued support and dedication to our Chapter, and CSC.

Paul Wong

Paul is the first recipient of the Toronto Chapter this year not named Steve.  This is Paul’s first year on our Executive and jumped into the Professional Development Officer’s position with excitement and enthusiasm.  As part of CSC mission is to develop and deliver quality education programs, this is one of our most important and challenging positions.   Paul had some big shoes to fill from his predecessor but has done a fantastic job promoting, and organizing our courses.  In fact, this current term we are running CCA, TR, Specifier 1, and Specifier 2 courses.  Paul has single handedly made all the arrangements, attained all the required course materials, as well as scheduling TR panel presentations.  The transition has been seamless.  Paul has some great ideas moving forward and I am pleased to say that he will be continuing in this role and is very deserving of this award.  Congratulations Paul

Wayne Austin

Another new member to our Executive is Wayne Austin.  Wayne joined our committee as Marketing Officer which is another difficult portfolio and has done a fantastic job in this position.  Wayne has dedicated many hours promoting our Chapter to the members, as well as coordinating all of our sponsors at the various events we offer, and has certainly made a difference.  This takes a considerable amount of time and organization, and Wayne is the person that can get this done.  Wayne’s commitment, dedication, and attention to detail, has allowed him to excel in this position.  He has some great ideas moving forward and we are all excited that he has decided to continue in his current role.  Congratulations Wayne.

Chris Hunter

Chris is a second time recipient of this award and it is well deserved.  Chris has been our Program Committee Officer for a few years and he continues to do a fantastic job sourcing out interesting topics and knowledgeable speakers for our dinner meetings.  Chris also organizes an annual plant tour which is always very well attended.  When many of us take a break throughout the summer, Chris is working diligently lining up our speakers to ensure that we have a full offering at the start of our season.  Certainly not an easy task.  Chris is very well organized, and welcomes our speakers ensuring that they have everything they need.  It is always interesting working with Chris and sometimes unpredictable; however, his professionalism and dedication make him a very worthy recipient of this award.  Congratulations Chris.